Guide to Licenses

Learn more about our Licenses for Synthesia

Updated over a week ago

To provide you with the best experience in Synthesia we have three different categories of licenses. The license types determines if a seat is paid or free and whether users can create / edit videos or templates.

The three license types are:

  • Full license: this is a paid license. Users on this license are able to take all actions available to their role and permission level.

  • Free license: this is not a paid license and can be self upgraded to a full license. Users on this license are also able to take all actions but some actions auto-grade the license to full.

  • Restricted license: this is not paid and can't be self upgraded to a full license. Users on this license are able to take limited number of actions


License Options

Lets have a look in more detail what each license has the option to do.

KEY

βœ… = user can perform action with this license type

πŸ†™ = user can perform action but action will auto-upgrade license to full

πŸ™‹ = user cannot perform action, but can request upgrade to free license

Actions

Full

Free

Restricted

πŸŽ₯ Video

Create & edit video

βœ…

πŸ†™ Upgrade action

πŸ™‹ Request to upgrade

View & comment video

βœ…

βœ…

βœ…

Share & publish video

βœ…

βœ…

βœ…

Move video

βœ…

βœ…

βœ…

Delete & restore video

βœ…

βœ…

βœ…

Download video

βœ…

βœ…

βœ…

Duplicate video

βœ…

πŸ†™ Upgrade action

πŸ™‹ Request to upgrade

πŸ—‚οΈ Folder

Create folder

βœ…

βœ…

βœ…

Delete & restore folder

βœ…

βœ…

βœ…

✏️ Template

Create & edit template

βœ…

πŸ†™ Upgrade action

πŸ™‹ Request to upgrade

View template

βœ…

βœ…

βœ…

Download template

βœ…

βœ…

βœ…

Delete & restore template

βœ…

βœ…

βœ…

πŸ“š Library

Upload assets

βœ…

βœ…

βœ…

Download assets

βœ…

βœ…

βœ…

Delete assets

βœ…

βœ…

βœ…

πŸ‘₯ Avatars & Voices

Create custom avatar

βœ…

βœ…

βœ…

Preview avatar

βœ…

βœ…

βœ…

Create voice voice clone

βœ…

βœ…

βœ…


Assigning Licenses

  • If you are on a plan which doesn't provision a share workspace, license assignment is done automatically. You can see license type for each member or guest from members page in workspace settings.

  • If you are on a plan which provisions a shared workspace, admins can control license assignment.

    • Admins can pre-set the license type for all new members in Settings (not guests). By default members will be on a free license and guests on a restricted license.

    • Admins are able to change user license type (including their own) from Settings section in Synthesia.

Please note that free license can only be assigned when a user first joins e.g. via default license type. Once a free license has been changed to restricted or full, it can’t be reassigned again


Upgrading a Free or Restricted License

Free or restricted licenses can only be upgraded if you are on a plan that provisions a shared workspace and allows multiple full licenses.

Free License

  1. This license is auto upgraded to full as soon as the user takes an πŸ†™ Upgrade action as shown in the table here. Once upgraded to full, a user can’t be downgraded to a free license again.

  2. When on a free license a user can be added to a video with full-access, editor or commenter permissions without requiring an upgrade upfront

Restricted License

  1. User on a restricted license can request upgrade by performing a πŸ™‹ Request to upgrade action. On taking any of these actions, an upgrade modal is shown through which user can send a license upgrade request to Admin. This request will have to be approved by the Admin.


Downgrading a Free or Full License

  1. Both full and free licenses can only be downgraded to restricted license. This can be done by the Admin in the Settings section in Synthesia.

  2. Downgrading a user to a restricted license won’t change the video or folder level permissions for the user.


When will I be billed for licenses?

You will be billed for the number of full licenses at the start of the billing period.


Want to Learn More?

In addition to roles in Synthesia, we also have permission and licences in place to be able to manage users and provide the best experiences when using Synthesa. You can find out more about permissions here and roles here.

Did this answer your question?